Ivan Francescato Award

In 2012 the 7 SIRS decided to institute a prize in memory of Ivan Francescato, one of the greatest Italian rugby players of all time (and fellow team mate of Gianfranco Viola a founding member of the 7 SIRS), who died prematurely on 19th January 1999 at the age of 31 from a heart problem. The “Ivan Francescato Award” is intended to reward sportsmen who, independently of their own sporting discipline, have distinguished themselves particularly, at the sporting and the human level.

Javier Zanetti Argentina Football 2019

Javier Zanetti (Argentina Football 2019)

DSC_3732 - 2

Diego Meneghin (Italy, basket, 2012)


Fabrizio Macchi (Italy, Paralympic athlete, 2014)


Giacomo Agostini (Italy, Motorcycling, 2015)


Yuri Chechi (Italy, Gymnastics, 2016)

Cadel Evans Premio Ivan Francescato 2017

Cadel Evans (Australia, Cycling, 2017)


Bernhard Russi (Switzerland, Ski, 2018)